Bare this in mind any time you cast a spell- something we must address as a community. Now.

The Great Game- the beginning.

Look around you, list ten people you know off the top of your head, dear reader of mine, all of the people you see around you, those ten people you listed, and yourself included, we were all born as magicians. When we open our eyes for the first time, we can see the magic and the possibilities all around us. It is as we grow older we are taught not to see or think; not to imagine the possibilities beyond our own horizons. We are taught to get a job, feed a family, sleep, continue the cycle. The imagination we are born with is slowly eroded by the weathering forces of what is arguably nature’s most powerful storm- submission to the need for survival.

Ah however dear reader of mine, the beauty of this world reveals itself when we are hit by our lowest moments- at any point in our lives, something clicks and we are able to rediscover that little nugget of gold inside our minds. If only we all knew where to look.

Before we know it we find ourselves desperately hunched over that little ember in our hearts, relieved that it’s still there after all those years while we frantically clamber over it, nurture it, blow on it and watch it rise like a Phoenix as it re-ignites. The rush of possibilities knocks you over as you fall back, looking at this fantastic, raging- passionate fire erupting before your very eyes.

This process happens for us all in different ways, but every magician remembers when they re-discovered magic, and no matter how dark the story there is always the new horizon, the new beginning, the first day of the rest of their lives. However, the one thing each of these stories have in common is that, they all have hope somewhere in them. I am often fascinated by these stories of seekership and I am truly intrigued by each and every one. Some are dark, some are light, all of them involve curiosity of some kind, and inevitably a book somewhere along the way.

No matter how different they all are the one thing they all contain is hope. Hope of a better tomorrow; and courage, courage to venture into the unknown and risk everything to stick a middle finger up at the status quo presented to us by the matron of adversity herself, she who piously guards the freedom we all deep down desire so much.

I remember vividly how I fell down the rabbit hole, however much like the mad hatter my memory is coded in metaphors!

I woke up in the middle of the night, like clockwork I looked out of my window and no matter how hard I squinted I could see nothing but a pale and worn out face staring back at me against the incandescent and unforgiving illumination of the London city. Every night I would wake up at around this time, sometimes the glass was peppered with specs of dust due to the hammering of the summer sun, other times it was canvassed with rain drops mixing and merging as they raced to the window-sil. However every night I would look out the window and I could not see further than my own reflection staring back at me.

That night though, something was different. To this day I cannot explain what it was, but something in me had snapped. I was trapped in a cycle of betrayal and abuse and anger and sadness; the only comfort I had in the world was the familiarity this cycle offered me- due to it’s very nature it was bound to repeat itself. Something clicked and I had had enough of that comfort, it was wrong. I wanted something better, I deserved something better.

Tiptoeing around the house and ducking underneath the overgrown weeds I was walking with confidence, with purpose. I felt a spring in my step as if this new notion that had entered my being were standing behind me, gently holding my shoulders and directing me forward. Until suddenly I was eating dirt. I tripped and as I tried to compose myself and spit out the unwelcome intrusion I reached out my arm and was surprised by the sensation of a rough, cold and metallic beam. I lean on it to pull my way up, slowly but surely seeing in it’s full size an overgrown, rusted and old gate.

I paced it back and forth, much to the amusement of the two cats who were prior to my fall canoodling in the moonlight, doing whatever canoodling cats do… I had never seen this gate before. I knew this garden, every inch of it, every nook and cranny, every hidey hole and every perching point, as any child worthy of the name would. But I had never seen this gate before.

The length of the gate spanned maybe one and a half meters, the shrubs had overtaken the realm of man to such an extent here I could not see what the gate was even attached too and indeed, where it even came from in the first place. It was a typical cast iron gate in that it was black with the paint peeling offer rather indelicately, with signs of rusting intermittent around the ornate designs of the spikes that surrounded it’s perimeter. I put my hand on the gate and tried to gently push it open, nothing. I lifted the latch and tried again. Nothing.

This gate was not budging, I looked across and could see it had rusted over to such an extent that the hinges had virtually moulded into what remained of it’s frame. It had clearly not been seen, let alone touched in many many years.

As I gripped the gate harder the already peeling black paint cracked and crumbled away, leaving the brown rusted cast iron skeleton underneath my hand, naked and exposed for all to see. I looked across the rest of the gate and I could see it peeling slightly, waiting for someone else to come along and grip away…

It was always the same, I would imagine the possibilities, the future, but no matter how hard I squinted my eyes it was still uncertain, unknown, there was no plan in place- no play in motion that I could see. This fear is what brought me back every time, reeling me back into the constant cycle of sadness and anger. But now out of nowhere  I could see a way out, quiet literally somewhere to go.

I began to turn around yet again when next to me at eye level I see the 2 cats.

Every night I would see them, and every night we exchanged a glance and a shrug. I can only assume they were far too occupied with themselves doing whatever it is cats do in the moonlight- now that dear reader is a magical mystery that has baffled many a mage for many a generation!

However that night as I sighed and turned around to walk back into the same old circle, who’s only comfort was the familiarity it provided me I was confronted by the 2 cats. In this moment of silence our eyes locked, mine and theirs. The energy in the air was electric- the wind was softly blowing my coat from my body as birds swooped by. The grass was leaning in the breeze as the stars twinkled above my head. I could feel the movement of the earth beneath my feet as I was locked in this gaze, this life changing gaze.

It was over in an instant, a fleeting moment only appreciated in the streak it left in the sand. However being locked inside it, it seemed to go on for eternity. A mixture of emotions and feeling bundled into some abstract communication between 2 beings, who’s entire perception of the universe was completely different. The only thing in common we shared was in that moment, on that night. An acknowledgement of each other, our collision of worlds in this deathly plain.

It was in this moment that I feel the cats- I felt the challenge they issued. They knew as well as I did that I was going to jump the fence tonight, they challenged me not to. There came a point where I had walked away too many times and it was now, or never. They offered me re-assurance and the strength to move forward with what had to be done. Just like that it was over and the 2 cats slinked and left me alone with the gate.

That’s when I felt it, the urge. The one thing which was different from every other time I came up to the fence- the urge to jump over- that little marginal gain which pushed my mind over the edge. So I gripped it tighter than ever before, breathed out, in, out again, and vaulted my way over the fence before my mind had even registered I had taken the plunge- and just like that, my life changed forever.

The wind howled through the cold and concrete suburbia that was my life, and with every step forward that I took, the howling got louder and angrier, I was disobeying the plan, I was stepping out of line. I was becoming increasingly aware of the chase, I started to run faster turning corners and ducking in and out of alleyways, looking for help, for the aid I desperately needed.

With every step I took and every breath I took, it felt like I was trespassing, stealing air that didn’t belong to me. But it tasted so good- I could taste the freedom in the air. I was terrified of what was running away from, but fascinated and falling head over heels in love with what I was running towards. The faster I ran the harder it tried to catch me, to bring me back behind the fence, back to the cycle I desperately and finally broke.

It was getting closer and closer, I was panting, panicking, fighting to keep my feet moving, my mind was screaming at me to stop and go back home but my heart was in tune with something completely different. As the hairs stood on the back of my neck my heart had detected something else, something different from my miserable existence- in it’s weakened state my heart pounded away like a drum in my chest. Whispering.

Whispering the smallest of whispers, the sweetest of sayings. It kept going and at the back of my thoughts beneath the cacophony of choirs wailing at me to go back it whispered- “Keep going Lucius, keep going” and I felt it, by god I felt it.

The hairs on my head stood up as I stopped solidly in my tracks, I was done running. For the first time in my life, I listened to my heart, and as I stopped and cleared my mind of the denial and despair that feeling in my heart erupted into a flame- a fire so great words alone, dear reader of mine cannot describe it. With this fire in my heart I turned around and faced it, the chasing wind, the howling anger of the banshee trying to drag me back to the hell of my home, and with that fire I burned it- I burned it hard.

The wind stopped, the clouds cleared and I could see for the first time in a long time, the stars… they were beautiful, the most beautiful thing I had ever seen. I looked around to see where I should go now from here.

As people we are generally taught that chains hold us down, in reality dear reader this is an illusion, the chains are not what hold us down we in fact are the ones who are holding the chains, following them. Now that I had no chain to follow I looked around and found myself in a clearing, breathing and resting.

I was lost now, I felt no fear but I was certainly anxious, what do I do from here. In front of me I saw many paths, each leading a different direction, each one very clearly an option to walk down. I didn’t know what to do, I had no idea where to go- I was young and naive with only the experience of a victim under my belt.

Out of nowhere from the path I had come to this point dear reader, the two cats had walked out. Either side of me they sat, I looked at each one and they looked at me. We sat there for a while, not really thinking about anything, just resting. In that moment I knew that “I had made it”. We sat there looking at the stars as so many of our predecessors had- in awe and wonderment as to their nature. How they shone so bright yet so alone.

It was in that moment I stood up, deciding I had to move, had to keep going, I simply did not know which path to take. I walked up to each one, I craned my neck at each, trying to peer down as far as I could. But none seemed to be where I wanted to go. I knew I wanted to take a path now, but not which one.

It was at that point the cats stood at the edge of the clearing, looking at me with those understanding, deep and wise eyes, gently meowing to me.

I walk over and the closer I get I start to make out a small dirt track covered by dark bushes and shrubs. Unlike the other paths I saw this one was dark, cold, full of thorns and nettles and things that howl in the night. But I had to peak, I felt compelled more than anything before to move the shrub aside and step onto it- and so the roller coaster which is my path now began. On this path I met many lost souls, many people disparately in need of help who had no where to turn to- grabbing me and begging me to show them the clearing.

It was then it became clear, I would help people who had no where else to turn, and slowly but surely I met others like me and thus I found, and now am a captain of, The Dark Order- my path took me here. And the 2 cats?

Oh, I still see them from time to time- they’re called compassion and courage. Compassion to love all those that are dark and help them if I can, the compassion to help those with no one else, and courage to face them- the orphaned children and those who orphaned them- the courage to continue on this road less travelled by dear reader. Compassion and Courage to move forward and forge a path to those lost in the hell that I was in once, to face head on the forces of the Dark and Demonic and press on for a brighter future. To help those who have no where else to turn, to be the candle in the dark and to be one of many beacons in the order that cut the veil of darkness and bring peace to those who need it most. To give aid to those, who have no where else to go and to pluck them from their pits of despair.

I may not be where I want to be yet, but I am where I am meant to be at the moment. The garden gate I hopped all those years ago, I always knew it was there, and the cats where waiting patiently for me. I just needed to see that I could jump it. After that, everything else fell into place.

______________________________________________________________________________

So dear reader, what does this mean for you? The reason I talk about how I re-discovered magic is to illustrate a point. My tale was of course, filled with metaphors, but my point is- no matter where we are now we pretty much all embarked on this journey from the same point. Change.

The art of magic is to bring about change, any kind of change, that power… to change something is what wars are fought over, what people are willing to die over, that power is why brother fights brother and sister fights sister, why on a grander scale there is conflict commercially and militarily, why we are so divided as a society. The power to bring about change is ultimate power arguably and magic is seen by many “out of field” is a means to that. No matter how that is arguable it never the less illustrates the point that magic brings about change.

We all discuss over drinks in our respective astral taverns the bringing about of change, the power to really impact our own lives, to take charge of the unguided vessel which is our very existence- so to speak. However the question we choose not to ask is why? Why do we want to go to the lengths of using magic to change our lives?

Surely, if we exclude from the equation the fact that we have jumped down the rabbit hole- we are very similar to those of our fellow people. We are similar in the fact that we are just as complex. The Germans actually have a word in their language to describe the emotion felt, when you look around yourself and realise that everyone else’s lives are just as complicated as your own…

“Sonder”

So why then, is it fair that we can use this awesome power to make our lives better, whilst others must deal with their lives in a more physical way? What are the consequences of our actions on others? When we cast a spell so that we get a job, so that we make that sale, so that our “party goes without a hitch” do we honestly believe that’s it, job done, that no one else is effected by it?

By using magic to influence our lives, we are single handily plucking a small string in the interlocking fabric of universal order… this creates a ripple which we have no way, really, of predicting (or even seeing after the event half of the time), that touches on the threads and lives of everyone around us. What if, by casting in the way we do we badly affect someone else? In my opinion, a spell cannot effect just one person, it will always, always affect others at some point down the road. As it is often said- “A sneeze on one side of the ocean can manifest into a hurricane 100 years later on the other side of the world”

Every single grimoire out there that you hold in your hands is power- that’s right- for the modest price of £8.99 (or $12.99 for our American Friends, or Euros etc.) you can buy power. Real, actionable power.

Indeed you don’t even need to pay a thing, with famous and influential texts like “Liber MMM” available in the public domain for free, you can obtain that power of change for free, if you’re willing to put the time into training. Of course, it is not an easy road, but my point is that this path is open to quiet literally everyone from the criminal in their prison cell to the aristocracy in their halls.

In the last 30 years, the mage’s community around the world has transformed, we have let our guards down and talk more openly with each other and the world outside- with a fantastic and amazing exchange of ideas that has propelled a new era of “Post Chaos” that promises to indeed be very fruitful.

But through this exchange of ideas, something I find very concerning, and I am guilty of this too, is that this question has never been seriously asked, at least publicly. I feel like as a community we only really have one obligation, which is to at least realise that this question needs to be asked.

“When is it wrong to use magic?”

I realise that this is a difficult question and subject, but we have no right to equate ourselves to scientists within our field if we refuse to ask the difficult questions.

Being an exorcist, I’m the type of mage who sees the other end of the table, I see the dark side of it, the consequences of a curse, or the results of experimentation when it has gone wrong. I and my colleagues are called into cases that baffle authorities in various fields because these victims, more often than not, are not connected with magus (the occult) in any way, and have no where to turn- same goes for said authority (Off the top of my head the ‘highest authority’ record in the Order is a former member called XXXXX who was called in to a case by a, let me just say, high ranking official of an un-named government).

I first came across this about 6 months after finishing my apprenticeship training in the Dark Order and was trusted to work small cases on my own. I was about 15 at the time (responsible teachers I know I know ahaha) and there was a revival of a late 70’s grimoire called “New Avatar Power”, and it was powerful stuff. We were aware of the text for a while, it was what began the modern, niche arcane study of “condensed magic”, however fondly I used to refer to it after the case I worked I no longer saw it as a harmless gimmick.

The mage who wrote it, had figured out how to condense ceremonial magic into a few very simple operations that anyone with half a magical brain could execute for very specific real world results.

These results ranged from a promotion, to finding love and getting slimmer… you know, the standard cook book grimoire. But there was one very concerning spell inside this grimoire called “The New Avatar Power Bomb” (I have put in it’s slang rather than the actual name, for reasons of decency). It effectively acted as an amplifier on the victim, amplifying the ramifications of what the caster considers a good deed or bad deed back at the victim. Ie. if the victim is good, the good that comes back to him is magnified… and so is the bad. This is sold as a “self defence tool”.

Doesn’t sound too bad right? Wrong, this is a very nasty curse.

So when this curse is cast, ask yourself the question dear reader, who is it that judges the victim’s actions as good or bad? That’s right, the caster of the spell. A normal person such as yourself, myself, your milkman… that’s right it’s the caster at the time of the casting. Let that sink in.

The caster has now given himself total power of malevolence and benevolence over the victim, and he is judging the victim’s every action. This is godlike power and no one has stopped to think is this not wrong? Let’s be honest, an experienced magician will be able to argue away for hours that the concept of good and bad doesn’t even exist- such as beauty is in the eye of the beholder so is said morality. Further illustrating how ridiculous the entire situation is.

And if the bounce back is really nasty, this curse has killed people and the caster shrugs and goes “oh well, it’s their fault”. In this case indeed that happened multiple times.

I think the point I am trying to make, is that as mages we are not above our common folk, and power can just as easily get to our heads as our non magical colleagues.

Up until recently in my path though, I have been fortunate enough to not come across a cross roads like this. My path has been full of ethical dilemmas of course, especially considering my line of work you can imagine, but I like to feel I have never betrayed my core values.

Up until now, I have never had to really use magic outside of The Dark Order, but now I am at a cross roads where in my professional life I can really kill it by using a bit of magic. {This would involve influencing the decision making processes of my clients etc. and even in a broader sense, generating people’s decisions in my directions.}

I am sure I am not the first mage who has realised this, and I doubt I will be the last, but from my online research, I seem to be the first to publicly acknowledge that the question needs to be asked. Even if I am not hurting other people, is it ethical to influence others decisions with magic? Even if not directly…

Through the past five years, my investigative work has led me to build up a network of a lot of mages. I have been in dungeons and moots and stone circles and graveyards and forests and deserts and mountains and the list goes on… pretty much everywhere in the world I have been has been related to one case or another.

What this means is that I have met and got to know on a good level, a lot of mages from a lot of different back grounds; some of them good, some bad, some angelic and some ugly (and some very very beautiful… trust me before I met my lady I got to know them very very well) all with different motivations- the most common of course I’ve met is what I call “the key board mage”. This is, someone who has a normal life who’s circle has expanded to include magic.

Now however different all of these people were, from the Shamans in South America to the Witch Doctors in Africa right up to the more 21st century lot in their penthouses in New York and their Yachts in the Carribean, there are 3 things I have learned we all have in common. These three things are universally true that we all share in common I promise you.

1. All our personal lives are messed up beyond belief, or were at one point.

First of all, and I have to say this is probably the biggest and most obvious one to me. All of our personal lives are messed up beyond belief, or at least they were at some point, but then the storm calms and we find someone. I think this is due in part to the evolution process that we undergo mentally when going from just another person to a magician.

You start off juggling one ball, simple. This ball is you, the name you were given, your existence as a normal person. Your college, job, friends, career, aspirations, girlfriends and boyfriends and whatever is in between, that’s all the one ball. We as people were designed to simply hold that one ball, and occasionally throw it in the air when we want to shake things up a bit!

But then suddenly, beneath the shelf in that charity shop down the road, you pick up an old black, beaten up book and with a mild curiosity you blow the dust off of it’s covers. You open it up and flick through a couple of it’s crinkly pages before you see a diagram and realise what it is. It’s only 99p and for charity it’s a good cause, you try and conceal the books name, or make a joke, or the best ones are when “you need it for a prop for a film”, but however you do it you buy the book, with cash.

You get home and you want to read it, but whoever you live with is there so you omit that part from your day and suddenly you’re now juggling 2 balls.

A few weeks later you’re finding yourself on online forums, reading a bit more, maybe you’ve even actually ordered a second book from the internet. Now you’re juggling three balls and at this point it starts to overwhelm you.

When finally you begin to feel the effects of the magic you are practicing, and when you first see that is a wholly separate topic that’s it, boom, your juggling a fourth ball and you are officially down the rabbit whole.

You look at the whole world a bit differently, you’re suddenly volume wise thinking a lot more, it’s like you are 2 people. And people will pick up on it. In the back of their minds they’ll know, as an intuitive thing, and until you meet someone else who is hiding as much as you will be, personal relations get… difficult.

I promise you that that is something we all share in common. Now fear not because there is someone for everyone and though I am young, and probably don’t really know what I am talking about when it comes to… personal relations- I am sure there is a light at the end of that tunnel, I’ve met loads of mages who’ve come out the other side, who thank the universe for every stop light they’ve missed so to speak.

2. We all have ghosts.

This is probably true for many normal people too, but I find this to be especially true of mages. I would say every mage I have met, without exception, is running away from something, someone or both. In the world of the magus, before we take control of our lives we are always running from something or to something, or both.

We all have scars, at least one, those little land mines in our heads which we try our best to never bring up, never talk about, and simply avoid at all costs. More often than not, though not all the time, this is why you jumped down the rabbit hole in the first place.

Me personally, I feel like I’ve broken a taboo about mentioning my scar, the chink in my armour, but then there is hardly a spirit on this plain which does not know my story, but I suppose on this new blog- addicted to the memories – if the title itself is not an induction I’m sure at some point I’ll tell the story. If you are really determined to know me story drop me a line in the comments and I’ll be in touch, or if you like a challenge, google my name and see if you can find that one abandoned corridor of the internet where I spoke about it and find out- CHALLENGE ISSUED!

3. We all set out with an end game in mind.

Maybe 100 years ago, seekers seeked out magic as a path to enlightenment I don’t know, but what I can tell you is nowadays if you find me a seeker who can even define enlightenment I will give you a gold star… made of gold… whilst wearing a gold mask!

Every seeker I have come across, is seeking magic as a solution, a way to run away and escape a past, or to run to a future. They have one specific, very specific and actionable thing they wish to achieve. In the age of the internet all they need is a whiff of “magus exists outside of fantasy” and they’re off on forums asking how to do something very specific.

Sometimes it’s to look prettier, and sometimes it’s to change a personal situation, sometimes it’s darker such as to deal with abuse, or in the worse instance when they are already afflicted by a magical attack and are looking for help.

In the age of the internet there is nothing wrong with this in my opinion, however it still posits the question. Once this aim is achieved, what next?

The answer, more often than not it is never achieved.

The seeker realised after some reading that the magus is much deeper and more profound than simply casting a spell like you would bake a cake. They discover something deeper about themselves and they follow the string like a cat, not knowing where it would lead and before they know it they are down the rabbit hole.

The point is, we all set out with an end game in mind, and most of us still do have one, albeit not the same as when we started.

change- that’s what it is all about.

So what does this mean for you. Well, all mages in the world share these three things in common and there is one thing that all those three things have. A running theme that perfectly explains what we do. Something which totally justifies our keeping of secrets from our family and friends, the discretion that we exercise in our work.

 Change.

We set out onto this path of magic to bring about change. To take control of our situation and to spit on adversity like we would the common racist. We set out to break the chains that are holding us down and to pursue a brighter future for ourselves and our children, we set on this path of magic to chase our dreams and to really change our lives.

One argument in favour of casting to influence events around us is simply this. Bad stuff happened to us, different from person to person, but whatever happened we are in the 5% of trauma sufferers who get stronger as a result rather than break. Who’s resolve is strengthened and who turn around and curse the fates and take control of their ship in the sea of change.

Indeed I think the main argument beyond anything else in favour of casting is that whether we influence change around us or not, change will always happen. Change will always affect everyone regardless of what we do, and frankly we are the masters of our own destiny.

—————————————————————————————————————————————————————————

So you and I across this computer screen share three things in common- but how is this relevant to the question? How does this at all explain why we should be allow ourselves to influence the world around us using magic? Simple.

The fact that we have these three things in common proves that none of us are here by choice. We are here because we were dragged into this world by external factors, even if you think you weren’t if you think long and hard enough about it you’ll see this is true. I am still trying to figure out why this is the case, is there perhaps an external force guiding us all? Or indeed a plan even? Who knows, but all I know is that we are here by forces other than our own.

Imagine back to before you fell down the rabbit hole- maybe you were still in school or college, maybe you were working in a bar? But think back to what you saw as your “horizon” in that time.

When I look back at my past life before I fell down the rabbit hole, my horizon was school- I could not imagine anything past that, and yet now my horizon has expanded beyond belief and into worlds unknown. I am certain I am not unique in this sense however- it has changed my life.

If you spent your entire life reading comic books, then saw someone take off into the air in the middle of the street, you would never be the same again. It would change your life, it would add purpose to your life but it will take something else away. With the knowledge of the “magus” you can never look at the world the same way again.

We have that expanded horizon to look around the corner, if we can see a bullet coming a mile off why should we not dodge it simply because others cannot? To go a step further- why should we not avoid the bullet being fired all together.
In conclusion to the opening of this, what I hope will flourish as, an interesting debate…

I feel that I have presented a balanced argument for both sides of this topic, and I hope that this at least provokes the much needed debate and self reflection we need to have as a community. I at least hope to have provoked some thoughts on the issue. Let me wind you up, let me “opinionize”, let me convince you to voice your opinion.

For too long the magical community in the recent time has been focussing on what we can do with magic- and as scientists do we push the boundaries on innovation, to help our fellow man by innovating and finding new ways to use magic to achieve our goals- and that’s fantastic. However our actions have consequences and with the power we have between our 2 hands we have not left much room in our minds to consider whether we should be doing what we do, as much as we do.

I have seen the beauty of magic, how it can cause miracles, save lives, rescue towns and villages and provide hope to the lost. I have however also seen the darker side of magic, I have seen callous and nasty individuals take this great art and use it to their own ends.

Does power corrupt, or are the corruptible attracted to power?

There is certainly an argument to be had that we should have the right to influence the world around us, because we can already peer beyond the veil and once something is seen it cannot be unseen and therefore must be acted upon. However, I feel that there is also an equally valid argument that magic was never meant to be used in such a manner- that a true magician will effect change within him/herself so as to affect the world around them, rather than relying on more direct means. The argument is valid on both sides and in reality the answer probably lies somewhere in the middle.

Even factoring in my 6 years experience in the “magus”, I myself am still conflicted on this issue which strikes to the very core of my practice. It is an issue that I feel I should have considered a long time ago however the rush of making magic work got to my head and only recently did I contemplate this. If you Dear Reader take anything from this article, give the notion a nod of your head before you cast a spell and from time to time recite a charm for all the unseen faces and names whose lives you touch.

The solution lies in discussion, it gives me hope that one thing we are good at as a community is discussion. Let us discuss this issue and debate it, and hopefully the more opinions that are thrown into the mix the better an answer we can get.

With love, always.

Captain Lucius RavenCroft.
1st Captain of the Dark Order and Consultant Exorcist.

(Featured image credit to: http://cta-service-cms2.hubspot.com)

2 thoughts on “Bare this in mind any time you cast a spell- something we must address as a community. Now.

  1. Lucius I really enjoyed your article and thought provoking questions and you are so right in saying that we have a responsibility to ourselves and to our craft to think first before acting. Also question if we can solve whatever problems we my come up against without the use of magic. Personally I believe magic should be the last resort to turn to when we have tried all other avenues. I don’t think it playing fair if we use our craft against those that have no idea what is affecting their lives if we do use magic to influence and control the situation. Who are we to decide to be above others that can not defend themselves with the same powers that we use. We must be more conscious of not the now but the after affect our actions have and what we my release into this world to get it accomplished. Responsibilities start with us. Thanks for opening up this discussion or debate. Proud of you for being brave enough to bring this to all of our attention. PEACE LOVE LIGHT

    Like

Leave a comment